Mesmerizing Jehangir….

7 days of this magical arena… why magical…? It literally draws everyone from students of art to teachers of art at one point of time in their life… or presently… to junior… senior… emerging … all artists… art lovers… art gallery people…. Agents… merchants of art… Commoners who just want to get the feel… get connected to the vibrations … trying to understand the ways of art & artists’ perspective towards the life & beyond…

It’s been a very strong pulling force… every moment since 21st Jan. 1952… when it opened its doors to artists….

When I stepped in on 30th Mar. with my sculptures … & yesterday when I packed my sculptures to make a way for another artist… these few days literally changed me inside out…. They just made me comfortable in their clan… my work made my way… here you are nobody’s nobody… only your work can speak for you…. Stand for you… & that worked the best for me…

It’s like baptism… like thread ceremony… you are given a diksha … you take an oath without words… purity within you is tested … hundreds & thousands of eyes n fingers are touching you invisibly & gauging your vibes… with positive appreciation… they may not say a word… but their lingering by your art piece says it all… they may not buy your work… but their penetrating gaze through & through your art piece is priceless….

I did not keep any book for them to write their comment in… neither did I print any catalogue or brochures for them to carry my art home…

I was letting them move through my sculptures… in silence… & with all my senses extended I was imprinting every moment… every word said – unsaid… in my system… their expressions… their whispers to self or their accompanists… their nods… their smiles… their searching look of…  ‘who is the sculptor…’

& ‘may I have your card or some contact…?’

They may or may not contact me later… but for the moment they were in my vicinity they were totally attentive to my sculptures & were thinking about them… the most precious thing in our life…’TIME..’ they spared for me & my sculptures…  I am indebted to each one of them forever…

So …..

j..e..h..a..n..g..i..r…  the magical word… the magic in the place …. & the air I breathed in like the magical potion … is not ‘in’ my system but ‘have become’ my system now….

Leave a Reply

